Information in English

Welcome to the website of the Israeli Association for the Study of Religions (IASR). The IASR has been (re)founded in October 2015 in order to replace an earlier organization – the Israeli Society for the History of Religions – that has been dormant for many years.

The IASR aims at advancing the academic study of religions in the country by acting as a forum for relevant scholarly activities and holding varied events, such as conferences, workshops and seminaries.

The IASR’s elected President is Prof. Ithamar Gruenwald (Tel Aviv University), and its Secretary is Dr. Shai Feraro (Oranim College of Education). Our Board Members are: Prof. Serge Ruzer (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Dr. Irit Averbuch (Tel Aviv University), Prof. Haviva Pedaya (Ben Gurion University of the Negev), Prof. Amos Megged (University of Haifa), Prof. Daphna Ephrat (Open University), Prof. Hanoch Ben-Pazi (Bar Ilan University) who is also our Treasurer, Dr. Isaac Lubelsky (Open University), Dr. Marianna Ruah-Midbar (Zefat Academic College and Tel Aviv University), Dr. Adam Klin Oron (Van Leer Jerusalem Institute).

The IASR’s Audit Committee members are: Dr. Ithamar Theodor (Zefat Academic College) and Dr. Hagar Lahav (Sapir College).

For further information, including membership issues and conference registration, please contact the IASR’s Secretary, Dr. Shai Feraro, via